My Year in Books- 2015

If you look to the right of my blog, you’ll see my GoodReads widget! I always have the books I’m currently reading right over there! And in 2015, I did a reading challenge with GoodReads- I challenged myself to read 75 books (I realize now I was a bit too ambitious). I ended up reading 27. This year, I’ve set my goal for 30! Wish me luck!

I wanted to look back at the books I read in 2015 and give you guys a brief (very brief) review, and let you know if I recommend the book or not. 1 star means do not recommend, 5 stars means highly recommend. Enjoy!

My True Love Gave To Me– YA short stories. GIVE. ME. MORE. OF. THESE. NOW. I looked for another book like this to read this December, and couldn’t find one 😦 This book is everything you could ever need to read leading up to Christmas.Β β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…

The Diviners– YA. Too long. Too much build-up. Love triangles are dumb.Β β˜…β˜…

Let It Snow– YA short stories. Kind of like My True Love Gave To Me, but just not as good. And only 3 stories instead of 12.Β β˜…β˜…β˜…

The Scorch Trials– YA. This series isn’t one of my favorite AU’s, but I still enjoyed the series and I’ll probably end up reading all the prequels this year. If you love this series, then you’ll obviously love this book. For me, though, it only gets three stars.Β β˜…β˜…β˜…

The Death Cure– See above.Β β˜…β˜…β˜…

Persepolis/Persepolis 2– Graphic Novel. Super educational, while still being funny and entertaining. I don’t really do graphic novels, but this one (these two, I guess. You can buy them separately or as one book. I read them separately) was actually pretty good.Β β˜…β˜…β˜…

Good Omens BBC Radio 4– Radio drama. Listen to this. Now. Just go.Β β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…

The Book of Merlyn– Fantasy. If you’ve read The Once and Future King and loved it like I do, then you need to read this. It’s a lot of The Sword and the Stone rehashed, but with some extra bits that you don’t get in the final TH White book. I loved having this extra book to read.Β β˜…β˜…β˜…

Landline– Fiction. I didn’t feel connected to this story. The main character’s husband was a jerk and not worth fighting for.Β β˜…β˜…

All the Bright Places– YA. This one was great! A real tear-jerker, and just a great book. I loved it. One of the better YA books I read in 2015. β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…

I’ll Give You the Sun– YA. Favorite book of 2015. Hands down.Β β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…

The Girl on the Train– Fiction/Mystery. It was a very obvious, no-brainer mystery. But it was still a nice read. And I’m not gonna lie- kind of excited for the movie.Β β˜…β˜…β˜…

Promposal– YA. Cute and fluffy, just how I like it. Can’t remember a thing about the book, but I remember I enjoyed reading it. Think I breezed through this one in a day. A good rainy weekend book.Β β˜…β˜…β˜…

The Ruby Circle– YA. Go read this whole series. Start with Vampire Academy. Then read Bloodlines. Ruby Circle is the last one in the spin-off, and I inhaled every single book in both series.Β β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…

Gracefully Grayson– YA. Honestly, I can’t remember much about this story. But I gave it 4 stars on GoodReads. And I do remember liking it. So I’ll give it 3 stars for you guys.Β β˜…β˜…β˜…

Goodnight, Tweetheart– Fiction. Not a great story. I usually love stories that incorporate tweets or social media, but this one was a miss.Β β˜…

Girl Online– YA. Cute and fluffy. Not a masterpiece, but it was cute, which is what I was going for.Β β˜…β˜…β˜…

Girl Online On Tour– YA. See above.Β β˜…β˜…β˜…

Jurassic Park– Fiction. This book was great! That’s really all I have to say about it.Β β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…

Four– YA. This was a nice addition to the Divergent series. But I was still too sad from the last book to properly enjoy it (I read this one 4 months after finishing the last book, btw).Β β˜…β˜…β˜…

Life of Pi– Fiction. This is a great book!!!! Go read it! Now!Β β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…

I Was Here– YA. I still don’t really know how I feel about this one. It was… ok, I guess. I don’t know… I obviously wasn’t blown away by it, but I didn’t hate it either… I’m gonna say three stars, but it’s really more like 2 3/4 stars.Β β˜…β˜…β˜…

Two Boys Kissing– YA. THIS IS AN IMPORTANT BOOK. READ IT.Β β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…

Sir Gawaine and the Green Knight– Poem/Fantasy. I love this. I love adventures and classic literature and Arthurian legend and if you love any of those things and haven’t read this poem yet, go do so immediately.Β β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…

Maybe Someday– Fiction. I hate love triangles. This book is a love triangle. I’m still giving it four stars. It’s that well-written.Β β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…

Hit– YA. Don’t waste your time.Β β˜…

Oh my gosh, you guys! Now I just want to go home and read some more! I’m so excited to discover and read some more great books this year and to complete my 2016 Reading Challenge! What were your favorite books of 2015? Comment down below so I can check them out for myself!

Leave a Reply

