My New Years Resolution!

I have one New Years Resolution, and that is to be healthy, both mentally and physically.

But there are a lot of elaborations to this resolution- so I thought I would put it up on the blog so you guys can hold me accountable! Plus, I’ll now be able to go back and revisit this post throughout the year if I’m in need of reminders or motivation.

So first- be healthy mentally.

For me, this means getting on top of my anxiety disorder. It’s no secret that I take medication for my anxiety disorder, because medication works for me. It’s not the answer for everyone, but it has worked super well for me. However, that doesn’t mean I wouldn’t benefit from talking to someone and getting help in dealing with my disorder and, hopefully, get a better understanding of my disorder and learn how to cope with it, eventually without medicine, if possible. So that’s the first part of this resolution- seek professional help in order to beat this disorder.

This one also means being more present in my day-to-day life. I often get lost in the inner-workings of the internet, fandom, tv, etc. I spend a lot of time thinking about fandom and tumblr and getting super emotional about my favorite tv shows and waste the day on twitter and instagram and, again, tumblr. And I think I would really benefit from being more present in my life, living in the real world a bit more (although there’s not wrong with enjoying a bit of fandom and internet). But I think I could tone it back more and spend more time with friends, exploring the city, reading, exercising, etc. So that’s what I aim to do this year- better manage my time and balance my obsession with the digital world with a more healthy approach to the real world.

One to the second part of my resolution- be healthy physically.

This one is pretty self-explanatory. I just got a Fitbit for Christmas, so I want to continue getting at least 10,000 steps a day, and 60 minutes of physical activity every day. I’d also like to join a gym and really start getting back in shape. Basically, I want to get my body back, pre-desk job. And then keep improving my physical health even more once I reach that goal.

The great thing about physical health is that it ties in with mental health, so by improving my physical health, I’ll also be helping improve my mental health. Win, win!

And that is my New Years Resolution this year! What are you goals for the new year? I don’t know about you guys, but 2015 was a great year for me, so 2016 has a lot to live up to!

Happy New Year!

 

Leave a Reply

