Doctor Who: The Zygon Invasion Review

Spoilers, Sweetie!

Now this feels like a classic Who episode.

I’m still having trouble collecting all my thoughts in regard to this season of Doctor Who (I basically set myself up for failure by deciding to write about each episode every week, but oh well).

So here are some theories!!!!!

DON’T TRUST OSGOOD! I can’t believe I just wrote that. I LOVE Osgood. So much. (Honestly, I wish she was a companion instead of Clara). But I don’t think she’s the human Osgood. I think it’s the Zygon. I think the original was the one who got killed and now it’s the zygon version walking around, much like the rest of the supporting cast this episode. But I’m still glad they brought her back for these episodes, because I just adore her! Although, I must admit I’m confused by the question marks on her wardrobe. I don’t recall the Doctor wearing the question marks. In fact, I first thought she was wearing the question marks as her way of saying, “Well, I guess you don’t have a signature look, so I’ll just put these question marks here to be like, eh?”

Speaking of zygon’s, I can’t believe I didn’t realize Clara was a zygon faster, so props on that twist. I felt a bit silly for not figuring it out, actually, because as soon as I realized she was a zygon, I thought, “Oh! The sketchy neighbors! They captured her!” So yeah, I thought that was well done. I’m not really sure how they’re going to get out of that one.

In fact, I’m now sure how they’re going to get out of this entire situation. And I have to admit I’m a bit worried that the government is going to pull a Harriett Jones and just blow up all the zygons. And that would be a disaster. So yeah, I don’t know… I don’t know how they’re going to resolve this!

But I love that they’re revisiting an old story and I love the continuity. And I really, really love seeing the Doctor as President of the World. And I love it when the show visits America! So yeah, I guess I enjoyed that episode. It’s giving me The Impossible Astronaut/Day of the Moon vibes, which I love (not quite as good as those old episodes, but still. I’m happy).

What did you guys think? Theories on how the Doctor will get out of this one? How will he save Clara? Is Osgood human or Zygon? Let me know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

