Doctor Who: The Magician’s Apprentice

Spoilers, Sweetie!

SO. MUCH. INFORMATION.

SO. MUCH. INSANITY.

TOO. MUCH. TO. PROCESS.

I attended a showing of The Magician’s Apprentice on Sunday afternoon at the super packed Way Station… seriously, I have never seen it so crowded. It was standing room only by the time the episode began, and it was only the first showing of 4 that night!

And, according to the crowds’ reaction, Dr. Who got off to an exciting, epic, scary, and sometimes funny start. (And I’ll tell you something else- Dr Who is always more fun in a crowd! I love getting that crowd reaction and people yelling at the screen and taking a collective gasp of realization. It definitely adds to the experience and helps the story move along brilliantly.)

Overall, the episode wasn’t anything to remember, but I have to give credit where credit is due- the opening of the episode was a visually amazing and emotionally tense start to the season. I loved the concept of the hand mines and the tension of war and the child being caught in it all.

And I have to admit, it’s been such a long time since we’ve seen or heard from Davros, I forgot who he was. This is where the crowd is super handy. When the young boy revealed his identity, I was lost. But I knew from the shouts and gasps from the crowd that something big was going down. I turned to my friend and gave her this look of confusion, and she immediately proclaimed, “THE CREATOR OF THE DALEKS!” And, just like that, I was back with the story.

Some parts of the episode were a bit odd: The Doctor having an “axe-off” in the middle of a fighting ring and Colony Snarf being made of snakes, etc. etc.

Some parts were seriously epic: the reveal of Skaro, coming face to face with an old, dying Davros, and the Daleks. Some parts were hilarious: Missy. Just… all the Missy. Probably my new favorite villain, to be perfectly honest. And some parts left me freaking out: The Doctor going back in time to kill Davros!!!!!! That cliffhanger, though! Obviously, we all know it’s not going to happen, although it wouldn’t be the first time Moffat rewrote Whovian history. But it’s just too big… I don’t think it can be done.

But I will say, the first episode of season 9 got us off to a fast start! I’m intrigued and eager to see what happens next! Is this setting us up for how Clara becomes a Dalek? Will the doctor defeat the Daleks once and for all? Will we see more insanely hilarious interactions between the Doctor and Missy, who are apparently frenemies till the end?

Only time will tell! I give the opening and closing of the episode 9 out of 10 stars. I give all the bits in between 5 out of 10. Overall, not a bad start to what will hopefully be yet another epic season of our beloved Doctor!

Leave a Reply

