Lush Faves and Regrets

Faves:
Sunny Side Bubble Bar
– FAVE. FAVE. FAVE. I’m obsessed with this bubble bar. It’s so lovely and citrusy and turns your water into liquid gold and had so much GLITTER. I’m 24 years old and was legitimately playing in the bath. I loved the golden swirls in the tub, along with the bubbles and lovely scent and color… it was such a great experience. This is my absolute fave out of all the bath products I’ve tried at lush. I should warn you, though- it does leave a residue in the tub afterwards of glitter and stains the tub golden, but it washes out in the shower very easily.

Karma Bubble Bar– This one makes the list solely for the scent. So I should mention that Karma also comes in the form of soap, perfume, lotion, and shampoo. So maybe next time you’re in lush, pick up one of the Karma scents in a different form. Because apart from the scent, there was nothing spectacular about this bubble bar. However, I bought it a few days before I used it, and it literally made the entire bathroom smell like spices and slightly of citrus. The scent is absolutely incredible. I’d say it’s the quintessential scent of Lush. So will I be buying the bubble bar again? Maybe not. Will I be purchasing other Lush products in this scent? Absolutely. I should also mention that, if you live in the UK, they just recently re-formulated and re-designed this bubble bar (AND ADDED GLITTERRRRR), so it could be worth it in bubble bar form on Oxford Street or elsewhere in the UK. Lush UK ships internationally. In fact, I plan on ordering the new one, so I’ll get back to you guys on how I like it!

Twilight Bath Bomb– This is my favorite bath bomb in the Lush collection. It has it all; gorgeous purple water, delicious scent, moisturizing oils in the water, and little flecks of glitter. When it dissolves, it goes from pink to purple to blue and it took a solid 10 minutes to dissolve, which I love! My skin was so soft when I got out of the bath and I felt so relaxed and refreshed and clean. I soaked in this bath for over an hour. I love it! This will definitely be my go-to bath bomb from now, and I will be purchasing it over and over again.

Dragon’s Egg Bath Bomb– This is my second favorite bath bomb so far. There’s nothing spectacular about it, but it was enjoyable. The color was underwhelming- it was just a dark orange. It was definitely pretty, but with all the colors in the bath bomb before it dissolves, I had higher hopes. The scent is a gorgeous lemony/lime. But it’s not very strong once the ballistic dissolves in the water. There was also a tiny bit of glitter, but I wanted more, like the Sunny Side bubble bar. So yeah, it was fun. I was in the bath for about an hour with this one- nice scent, glitter, and orange water. It’s not spectacular like a lot of people make it out to be, but definitely fun.

Cosmetic Warrior Face Mask– Ok, so this mask smells. Let’s just get that out of the way. The main ingredients are garlic and eggs, so yeah. It smells. But guess what? It also works. Like, really works! The scent, to me, wasn’t too distracting. The first time I wore the mask, I was like, “Ok.. yeah… not pleasant.” But you honestly get used to it the more you use it. Be sure to really massage the mask in as you put it on and wash it off, for best use. But as soon as the mask is off, my skin looks noticeably clearer and cleaner and brighter and softer. So it definitely works at soothing bumps and redness on your skin. Best face mask I’ve used in a long while.

Tender is the Night Massage Bar– This massage bar smells so amazing, and it makes my skin so soft and moisturized! This will definitely come in handy this winter when my skin dries out. It hydrates my skin instantly and just leaves my skin feeling amazing. I like to use it after a bath or before bed- and when I use it before bed, I wake up still smelling so good. I love it! This one is going to be a life-saver.

Sandstone Soap– I actually got this as a free sample from Lush a little while back and now I’m obsessed with this soap. I’ll definitely be going back and buying more once the sample runs out. The texture of the soap is amazing. It has sand in it. Actual sand. It makes me feel like I’m at the beach every time I wash my hands. I’ve just been using this soap in the sink to wash my hands, but it would be a great product to use in the shower, as the scent is soooooooo delicious (citrus and lemons and the beach and just yummmmm) and it exfoliates, thanks to the sand. I’m just so in love with everything about this soap. Whether you use it at the sink or in the shower, this is a sure way to treat yourself.

Regrets (Products I probably won’t buy again):
Sakura Bath Bomb
– This one was underwhelming, to say the least. It smells wonderful, but it doesn’t dye your water, there’s no glitter, it dissolves fairly quickly without a lot of flare… it just makes your bath scented. So while there’s nothing wrong with this bath bomb, there’s nothing really worthwhile about it, either. You can get other, more exciting products at Lush for the same cost.

Cupcake Face Mask– I’m so disappointed that this one is on here, as it smells lovely and felt so great on my skin and just seemed like such a fun idea. But it clogged up my pores on my nose and made them look darker, when it’s supposed to clear up my skin, so it wasn’t really effective. And it also made a mess washing off. It ran all down my neck and stained my sink brown and got mud EVERYWHERE. So while I thought this would be a great mask for relaxing, and it definitely was, it just wasn’t worth it, in the end. I will say that I gave it a second go, just because I wanted to give it a chance. And it didn’t clog up my pores the second time I used it, but I didn’t see as much of a difference as I did with Cosmetic Warrior, so it still wasn’t effective. So I guess I’ll label this one as guilty pleasure, as it’s not really effective and it’s kind of messy… but it smells so good! It’s like wearing chocolate icing on your face. But I probably won’t buy again, as I don’t want to pay loads of money just to wear chocolate on my face…

Pop in the Bath Bubble Bar– This one isn’t a regret so much as it wasn’t what I was hoping it would be. So let’s list the positives first: it made LOADS of bubbles, it smells amazing, it was moisturizing, and the design is so cute. Now for the disappointments: the bubbles dissolved in about 15 minutes, the scent wasn’t as strong in the tub as it was in solid form, and my water didn’t change colors. When I went into the store and saw that this bubble bar comes in pink, green, and blue, I thought it meant that it would make my bath water super colorful, which I LOVE in a bath (color and glitter. Those are the two ways to my heart, Lush). So when the water stayed plain and the bubbles dissolved within 15 minutes, I was just left with a pretty ordinary bath. There were SO many bubbles when it started off, so I was excited, even though it didn’t change my bath water, but I was so sad when they didn’t last very long. So this bubble bar was fun, but the fun was too short-lived.

Catastrophe Cosmetic Face Mask– I’m not crazy about this one. I used it for the first time last night, so I need to give it a few more goes before I can properly judge it… but, so far, it’s not that great. It’s very chalky and heavy and hard to put on. It just crumbled off my skin and wouldn’t spread as I was applying it, so that was annoying. It washed off easily enough, but my skin wasn’t left feeling soft or super clean. I noticed a tiny bit of a difference in how my skin looked, but nothing major. I still had some new break-outs on my face this morning (and I know you have to use it a few times before you see any big changes), but it’s supposed to prevent break-outs. I shouldn’t be seeing brand new ones on my face the morning after using it. I will say that it smells amazing. But it’s just not as effective as Cosmetic Warrior.

What I’m dying to try:
Cup O’ Coffee Face Mask
Don’t Look At Me Face Mask
Rosy Cheeks Face Mask
Love Lettuce Face Mask

Sex Bomb Bath Bomb
Avobath Bath Bomb
Fizzbanger Bath Bomb
Frozen Bath Bomb
Intergalactic Bath Bomb
The Experimenter Bath Bomb
Golden Slumbers Bath Bomb (Oxford Street Exclusive)

The Comforter Bubble Bar
A French Kiss Bubble Bar
Brightside Bubble Bar
Flowering Tea Bubble Bar (Oxford Street Exclusive)

Ceridwen’s Cauldron Bath Melt
You’ve Been Mangoed Bath Melt

Don’t you worry, folks. I am a new LUSHie and will be sure to try out all of these (and more, I’m sure) and report back to you with what’s worth it, and what you should pass on. And, if you’re like me, and had never heard of Lush before, definitely look into it! They’re 100% vegetarian/vegan, handmade, organic, and fight animal testing. Their products are just so lovely and smell amazing and work great. I highly recommend to everyone!

Lush tips and tricks:
Bring in 5 empty, clean face mask pots and get a face mask for free!

Make your bubble bars last! You can get the same fun bath and same amount of bubbles if you only use 1/2 of the bubble bar and store the other half in a sealed plastic bag (to keep the moisture in) for the smaller bubble bars, or even 1/4 of the bubble bar for bigger ones.

Combine Big Blue Bath Bomb with 1/2 of Sunny Side Bubble Bar for “Mermaid Water!”

For optimum enjoyment, use these products after a long day at work or on a lazy weekend, because you will fall fast asleep after a bath with these 🙂

Leave a Reply

