August Favorites

Neutrogena Shine Control Primer
I bought this brand of primer because I have been very impressed with Neutrogena’s Mineral Sheers Powder products. So I figured I would stick to the Neutrogena brand for my base. This primer works so well! My skin gets really oily and sweaty during the summer (the exact opposite of my dry skin in the winter), so my makeup shifts around a lot during July and August, the hottest months of summer. This primer holds my makeup in place all day, creates longer wear, and keeps my skin looking fresh and clean- not a hint of oil anywhere.

Too Faced Shadow Insurance
I have heard so many good things about Too Faced! So when I went to Sephora in search of an eyeshadow primer and asked one of the girls working there her recommendation and she took me straight to Too Faced, I knew I had to give it a go. This primer works perfectly. It makes the colors of my eyeshadow brighter and bolder, and keeps the shadow perfectly blended and in place all day long. Without this primer, the different colors on my eyes blur together throughout the day, because I have oily eyelids. But with the primer, everything stays exactly how I blended it in the morning. My eye shadow at 5 PM looks just like my eye shadow at 9 AM.

Zoella Bath Fizzer
There’s nothing super special about this product. It’s not colorful. It doesn’t create bubbles. It doesn’t dye your water. But it smells great and leaves your skin smelling even better. I used these bath fizzers during my vacation for relaxing morning baths- it was the perfect way to start my morning. I would drop two cubes of fizzer into the bath, right under the running water, and it would dissolve. Then I would put on my lavender mud mask for extra relaxation, open Netflix, and I was good to go. These fizzers have a very light floral scent- nothing too overwhelming, just a light scent that adds a little something extra to your bath. But when you get out of the bath, it leaves your skin smelling amazing! I’m a fan of light, clean scents. I don’t like overpowering or sweet scents- so the floral scent of these fizzers is just perfect for me. It’s a great way to treat yourself and make sure you smell amazing when you’re done with your pamper time.

Zoella Tutti Frutti Scrubbing Me Softly Body Scrub
This product smells amazing. I’ve started using it pretty much every single time I shower. I can’t even place what it smells like apart from summer and blueberries and just… I don’t even know. It’s lovely. Go give it a whiff if you’re in the UK, and if you’re in the US, just trust me on this one and buy it online. You won’t regret it. It’s so affordable and smells so good and leaves my skin so soft. I’m just so in love with this product. I will definitely be ordering more. In bulk.

L’Oreal Paris Infallible Lip 2 Step #113 Flamboyant Flamingo
When I tried this product in the store, I put it on the back of my hand, just to get a proper look at the color. It’s a good thing I loved the color, as it literally stayed on the back of my hand for 24 hours. I tried rubbing it off, I washed my hands with soap and water, I used make-up removing face wash… it would not budge. For some reason or other, it doesn’t have quite the same lasting power on my lips, but it definitely stays put throughout the day, even after meals and licking my lips. It’s so sparkly and fun for summer. I actually went back to the store and bought a different (dark purple) color for fall, because I was so impressed with it. Let me tell you the secret behind this product- wipe all the excess gloss off the brush for step one and swipe a fine layer across your lips. Then build it up from there. Wait for the gloss to go a bit tacky, then swipe Step 2 over your lips. I’ve found that’s how I get the most color and wear out of it. It still crumbles every now and then… I haven’t figured out a rhyme or reason as to why some days it goes on perfectly and some days it crumbles… that’s the only downside.

Lush Sunny Side Bubble Bar
For those of you who aren’t familiar with Lush products, as I think the main locations are in the UK and NY (I’m sure there are more around the US, but they’re not exactly a popular chain store that you find at your shopping mall in every city), Lush is 100% natural/organic, not tested on animals, super good for your skin, and handmade. I’m obsessed with pretty much all of their products. I discovered that there’s a store just a few blocks from my work, so I decided I would start trying out all of their different scents! This one is my favorite so far. You crumble the bubble bar under running water as you run your bath, and it turns into bubbles and turns your water into liquid gold. It was shimmery and so pretty and my skin was so soft after the bath and it smells citrus-y and it was just one of the best baths I’ve had in a very long time. I loved it! This will definitely be a repeat purchase in the future.

Poo-Pourri
Not even kidding- this stuff is great. When I first saw the ad for this, I was like, “you’re joking, right? Is this a joke?” But then my roommate got it for our bathroom and one day I tried it out, just for fun, and it honestly smells so great and it works like magic. It’s great if you have roommates who have to share the same bathroom and you don’t want to stink it up when they’re about to use it. Or, since it’s a small bottle, you can take it with you in your purse and use it at work, if you share a public restroom with your co-workers. It smells like lemon verbena. Not even kidding. It smells so great and leaves your bathroom smelling fresh, no matter what. Highly recommend!

Leave a Reply

