The Presidential Election: Round 13 (Rick Perry)

Honestly, you guys, it is getting so much harder each and every week to give you an unbiased profile on these politicians. I’m doing the best I can! Can’t wait to wrap these up and start really talking to you guys about these issues and these candidates, however.

And, no, I did not watch the Republican debate. I plan to watch highlights and read transcripts from it soon, though. And I’ll get back to you guys about the debate as soon as I can! But, in the meantime, here’s the low-down on Rick Perry!

Who is Ricky Perry?

– Governor of Texas
– Republican
– Nondenominational Evangelicalism
– Entered the 2012 Presidential Race

Where does Rick Perry stand on certain issues?

  1. Gay Rights: Released a video in 2012 that stated “there’s something wrong in this country when gays can serve openly in the military, but our kids can’t openly celebrate Christmas or pray in school.”
  2. Women’s Rights: …I’ve got nothing. Sorry.
  3. War: Wants to rebuild the military.
  4. Foreign Policy: Does not agree with Obama’s Iran deal. “I would do away with that and clearly put sanctions back into place, put back an ability to be able to squeeze Iran.”
  5. Abortion: Pro-Life. “I signed a parental consent law. I signed an ultrasound law so mothers facing that agonizing choice can actually see. I’m not sure there’s been a more powerful tool in the great repertoire of technology than that sonogram to protect the life of the innocent in America.”
  6. Student Loans/Debt: I mean, I guess he’s planning to lower it? However, during his time as governor of Texas, cost of college tuition rose. “I know you face rising health care costs, rising child care costs, skyrocketing tuition costs, and mounting student loan debt. I hear you, and I am going to do something about it.”
  7. Healthcare: Wants to repeal Obamacare. Texas had the highest rate of uninsured residents among the states when he was governor.
  8. Criminal Justice: Wants to reduce incarceration rates. Endorses the group called Right on Crime.
  9. Marijuana: Is not in favor of legalizing marijuana, but believes it is the right of the States to let each state choose for itself. “Well, I’m a big believer in the 10th Amendment. I don’t agree with those decisions that were made by that, by the state of Colorado or Washington, but I will defend it to my death, if you will, to allow them to make those decisions. So I happen to believe that those states have that right to experiment if you want to call it that. I think they will look back and they will find that it was a huge error that they made.”
  10. Immigration: Is concerned about illegal immigrants that are entering the country and committing crimes. Believes real immigration reform can not happen until the border is secure. Wants to secure the border so he can lower crime rates committed by immigrants.

What are the highlights of Rick Perry’s campaign?
-The economy (lowering taxes, increase jobs, etc).

Leave a Reply

