Book Recommendations

I have more book recommendations for you guys! These are just a few books I’ve read recently that really moved me, in one way or another. None of these are light reads, so if you’re looking for a nice, summer beach read, maybe look elsewhere. These are all moving and emotional and have a lot to say. And I loved all of them for different reasons, but also the same reason… in that, I learned a lot by reading these. I hope they have the same affect on you!

I Was Here by Gayle Forman
This book is everything. Gayle Forman does it again! I mean, just wow. I’ll admit- I wasn’t completely taken with the book from the beginning. But as the story progressed and the plot thickened, I found myself getting really invested in the characters and the outcome. The story has some drama, mystery, and romance elements to it, without one genre overpowering the other. It was a great balance. The characters were very multidimensional- I liked them and disliked them at the same time, as is the case for many real-life relationships. No character is going to be perfect or completely flawed- there are elements of good and bad in every person, and this book highlighted that beautifully. It also is a great educational read on suicide and depression, as well as the effect that suicide has on others (namely, loved ones that are left behind). It was heartbreaking and inspiring all in one. It didn’t hurt as much as If I Stay, for which I was grateful, because that book just about broke me. But it still touched me. I give it 4 stars.

Life of Pi by Yann Martel
This whole book is mesmerizing and sparks a lot of self-reflection and is educational and a great argument pro-zoos, without sounding preachy or like a textbook. The visuals the author is able to create are clear as day, and it really just captured my imagination and allowed me to run with this story. My only problem with the book is the ending. The story as a whole more than made up for the ending, but I didn’t like that the author leaves the story up for interpretation in the end. The ending of the story is both clear and not at the same time, and that was frustrating to me (read it and you’ll understand what I’m talking about). I understand why Martel chose to take that course, but it still aggravated me. But, then again, good writing is meant to evoke emotions from you. Whether it be anger, happiness, sadness, laughter… and this book gave me all of those emotions. The entire book was beautifully, yet simply, written, making the story go quickly and still completely suck you in. I highly recommend this book! I give it 4 1/2 stars!

Two Boys Kissing by David Levithan
I am ashamed to say that this is the first Levithan book I’ve actually read. I’ve read a few of his shorter stories that are part of collections of short stories. But this is the first stand-alone novel I’ve read by him. And I absolutely loved it. I read the whole thing in 24 hours. Granted, it’s a short novel, and an easy read, but I was so consumed by the characters and eager to see how their stories played out that I couldn’t put the book down. And I can not stress enough how important this book is. Straight, gay, parent, child, whoever- read this book. It is SO important. This is the kind of book that could literally save lives. I was moved to tears, and inspired, and so, so happy after reading this. I give it 5 solid, gold stars!

Leave a Reply

