Love Yourself(ie)!

My advice for you this week is to love yourself(ie)!

I can’t even tell you how many times I’ve seen or heard someone make fun of others for taking selfies. People will laugh at you and call you conceited and judge you and it’s just absolutely ridiculous.

I don’t know about you, but I only take selfies when I’m feeling pretty good about myself. Like when I’m having a good day, or like the outfit I’m wearing, or did a great job with my make-up, or am having a good hair day. I take selfies because, for some reason or other, I feel beautiful that day. So when someone else starts laughing at you or making fun of you because they “caught you” taking a selfie, they’re trying to bring that self-love down! And that’s just not cool.

Raise your hand if you have self-esteem issues?! *raises hand* So when I’m feeling good about myself, why do people insist on trying to contribute to my self-esteem issues that I’m trying to overcome? We’re not in high school anymore (well, some of you may be… in which case, I’M SORRY! IT WILL BE OK!), so the bullying and teasing needs to stop.

Don’t let others get to you. And especially don’t make fun of someone else for feeling positively about themselves. Because when you mock people taking selfies, that’s exactly what you’re doing.

One of the great thing about selfies is that they show that we don’t need validation or compliments from someone else to feel beautiful and know our worth. We take selfies because we know we’re beautiful and we want to capture it. And yeah, we sometimes post selfies because it feels good getting “likes” and “comments.” It adds to the happiness we’re already feeling about ourselves. And there’s absolutely nothing wrong with that! Don’t let anyone tell you otherwise.

So the next time someone tries to make you feel embarrassed about taking a selfie, just roll your eyes and pose, because you are beautiful, and you know it!

photo (2)

2 thoughts on “Love Yourself(ie)!

Leave a Reply

