Rise Above It

I’ll be the first to admit that I can get pretty mad. When someone’s rude to me, or being stupid, or does something contradictory or basically commits any of my pet peeves, it just makes me angry. I lash out and get angry and it just boils inside of me. And it’s something I want to work on.

So, my advice for you (and me) this week is to rise above it. Kill them with kindness. Don’t let anyone bring you down or affect your mood. As I said in last week’s post- you can only control yourself. So don’t sweat it when other people are terrible. Most of the time, it has everything to do with them and nothing to do with you.

It’s no secret that I had a rough week last week. I’m sure it was reflected in my blog posts and obvious to anyone who interacted with me in person. The last thing I needed was drama and anger in my life- so, of course, that’s exactly what others tried to push onto me. I’m not one for drama. People who make every little thing into a big, dramatic scene just don’t really make sense to me. But I’ve been forced into a lot of situations like that recently, and it’s been stressing me out, because it’s just not something that I get involved with.

I was so exhausted and stressed last week, that I just didn’t have any more mental capacity for anger. So I let it go. I just dropped it and started being ridiculously nice to these people who were being rude and dramatic and just horrible to me. I showered them with kindness. And they didn’t know what to do with it- so they just ignored me (the best I could ask for in this situation). And I immediately felt better: mentally, physically, emotionally. I didn’t have this rage burning inside of me. I wasn’t as jittery. My mind instantly felt clearer. And I felt a lot of the stress that I was holding onto roll out of me.

Remember- you can’t control what others do or say, but you can control yourself and how you react. So take the high road. Don’t stoop to their level. And don’t take it personally. They’re the ones who have to live with themselves, and you have to live with the person you make yourself into, so make yourself the best possible version of you.

One of my favorite books is T.H. White’s The Once and Future King, and there’s a quote in there that I just love. Next time someone is being rude or dumb, just remember this quote. #sass

“I can see that you spoke in ignorance, and I bitterly regret that I should have been so petty as to take offence where none was intended.”

Leave a Reply

