Check Yourself Before You Wreck Yourself

Luke 6:41-42 “Why do you look at the speck that is in your brother’s eye, but do not notice the log that is in your own eye? Or how can you say to your brother, ‘Brother, let me take out the speck that is in your eye,’ when you yourself do not see the log that is in your own eye? You hypocrite, first take the log out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to take out the speck that is in your brother’s eye.” (NIV)

This is something that has really been bothering me lately. One of my huge pet peeves is when someone nags me or gets onto me for something, when they’re doing the same thing, or doing something worse.

I don’t know, I guess I just don’t like being talked down to. I mean, who does? But this is something I’ve been dealing with for a while and it’s just starting to get frustrating.

The other day I got yelled at for leaving two plates in the sink overnight, when the sink was already overflowing with dishes. Two plates out of a mountain of dishes that weren’t mine. And this isn’t the first time this has happened. One morning I woke up and the sink was so full of dishes, that my roommates had started leaving dishes on the counter next to the sink because they wouldn’t all fit. That night, they finally did the dishes, and I left a plate in the sink to soak overnight. The next morning, I got a text asking me to please clean up after myself, as I was creating a mess. Do you see the problem here? Do you see why I would be frustrated? I left one dish to soak while I was at work, they leave a mountain of dishes for over 24 hours, and yet I’m the problem. This is just one example.

I had another friend who constantly doubted me and nagged at me and even went so far as to email my mom saying I wasn’t ready to live in NY, when she was the one who couldn’t get a job, had loads of conflict with her co-workers when she did land a job, and ended up moving back home (while I’m still doing just fine in NY, I might add). So I changed the word “friend” to “person who is no longer in my life” and it was all sorted. I make an effort to distance myself from these people, but sometimes it’s inevitable. These roommates who have been a big issue will be moving out in a few days, though, so at least I won’t have to deal with them anymore.

It just gets frustrating when someone tries to make you out to be the problem, when they have bigger problems of their own to sort out. Of course, you can’t control what other people think of you or say to you, so you should try your best to not let it bother you when someone does this, but it can still get frustrating.

I know I’ve got my own problems, but they’re mine to sort out. So when someone who can never pay rent on time and leaves mountains of dishes and clothes all over the floor and comes in at 4 in the morning on a work night screaming, then tries to tell me what I’m doing wrong, I’m just going to roll my eyes.

So, my advice to you today is to be self-aware. Reflect on yourself before you stop to judge or criticize others. Try to sort out your own problems instead of nit-picking others. You can only control yourself. Become responsible for yourself and stop trying to fix others.

Leave a Reply

