Game of Thrones: Mother’s Mercy

That was some ending, huh?

Considering two episodes ago I was freaking out, worried that Jon Snow would die, and then he miraculously survived, it was a very “Game of Thrones” moment when he was just killed out of nowhere in last night’s episode. I suppose we should have learned our lesson by now, with the Red Wedding and the beheading of Ned Stark in season 1… the Starks always die when you least expect it (even though the hatred toward him has been no secret all season long. His death was definitely foreshadowed).

And with Jon Snow gone, all hell is bound to break loose with the Wildlings. That will definitely cause some drama next season.

I still get the feeling that perhaps we haven’t seen the last of Jon Snow, though. He may still come back as a White Walker, or in some other way, shape, or form. After all, it’s Game of Thrones. Anything can happen. But we’ll have to wait a year to find out. And, in the meantime, I know there are a lot of disappointed fans. I suppose this is what happens when a TV show goes ahead of the books… and I can’t help thinking that when more of the books come out, a lot of people will read them and think “Wow! I would love to see this played out on TV!” But, at that point, it will be too late. It’s a shame, but it is nice that HBO is allotted a bit more artistic creativity with the story-line. George R.R. Martin is undoubtedly going to do it better, though. That’s just the way it goes.

I am so very invested in Sansa and Theon now (Yes, I said Theon. Not Reek). He finally stepped up (even if it was to the wrong person. Who cares about Myranda? I want to see him take on Ramsay)! I am eager to see what they get up to next season after that amazing escape.

Arya is becoming quite the assassin. But becoming blind… that may set her back a bit. Still confused about her story-line. Still have no idea what to expect from her character in the future. But I’m intrigued. I’ll leave it at that.

Now, as for Cersei… I’m not going to lie. I feel pretty bad for her. I don’t like her, but no one deserves that extreme of a walk of shame. It makes the walk of shames of 2015 look like a walk in the park. And I can’t believe I’m going to say this, but it’s good that she got out of the dungeons, because someone needs to stop these religious freaks. They’re getting way too out of hand, and if anyone can bring someone to justice and get revenge, it’s Cersei Lannister. And you know she’s going to be twice as fierce when she learns about the death of her daughter (which I saw from a mile off. That was a super touching scene between Jaime and Myrcella… it was actually the only scene with Jaime in it that I cared about all season. And the whole time I was thinking, ‘shame she’s going to die in a few seconds’).

Stannis… oh Stannis. What an idiot. He burned his daughter alive last week (something I saw coming from a mile off, even though it was completely out of line of his character and just an act of desperation). I knew from the moment that the episode opened that his wife would have killed herself too. Again, no surprise. I was surprised that over half of his troops fled, but I really shouldn’t have been. If a man is desperate enough to kill his own daughter, then I definitely wouldn’t trust him with my life. So, he lost the battle. And lost his life to Brienne. Basically, he got what he deserved for being such a tool.

Daenerys and Tyrion still have the best story-lines in the show at the moment. It should be really neat to see Daenerys become Khaleesi once more, and I have a feeling that her old friends and allies are really going to help her in her rise to power and putting a stop to this Civil War. Tyrion, back in Meeren, is going to do an excellent job of ruling the city in Daenerys’ place, and getting the city under control again, likely just in time for his Queen’s return.

If I wanted to summarize this season in one word, it would be “predictable.” Nothing really completely caught me off guard, like in previous seasons. And I can only conclude that it’s due to the fact that the show is working with it’s own script now, instead of using the carefully crafted plots of George R. R. Martin. Television is all about the “big shock” factor, like the rape of Sansa, the White Walkers attacking, and the death of Myrcella and Shireen. all big shocks, but not surprises. Not like the Red Wedding or Jeoffrey’s death. That is an aspect of the show that I really miss. The drama is still there, as is the shock-factor, but it’s not quite as suspenseful and it doesn’t catch me off-guard.

Here’s hoping next season steps up and brings back the excitement!

Leave a Reply

