Game of Thrones: Hardhome

YOU GUYS!

Let’s just talk about that ending first, because I know that’s what we’re all thinking about.

It’s been a while since we’ve seen a bloodbath like that. It’s been a while since we’ve even seen any real fighting (not including the Sons of the Harpy and Grey Worm, but that can hardly count, as it was basically a hoard of men versus two guys). This fight was amazing and exciting and horrifying and tense and just wow. I honestly started to worry that Jon Snow wouldn’t make it. I really thought that he might die and I realized in that moment that I’m much more attached to Jon Snow than I thought.

And the¬†introduction of the White Walkers…. that build up was perfect. I had no idea what was going on. They literally came out of nowhere. I thought it could be an avalanche. I thought it might be the Wildlings who didn’t want to go with Jon Snow and the Night’s Watch fighting against the people they believed had turned their backs on them. I thought it might be some new sort of monster. I thought… I have no idea. But then the White Walkers ran up to the gate and it just went downhill from there. The graphics, the makeup, the acting, the fight stunts… it was all just on point. Game of Thrones, that was a spectacular fight scene. I loved every second.

And the very end, when the King of the White Walkers raises the dead as part of his army, and the boat is just sailing away in silence… just wow. A++++++ acting from Kit Harrington there, because man oh man… I totally feel you man. Shit just got real.

I’ve been wanting an appearance like that from the White Walkers since Sam encountered the army two seasons ago. But I must say that it was worth the wait and, while this is a terrible thing to say, I’m excited to see more. We know that winter is coming. It’s been coming for a while. So I want to see how that plays out!

Now on to the less exciting, but equally amazing, rest of the episode. Honestly, I thought this entire episode was quite perfect and captivating.

So, we finally had some scenes between Daenerys and her new counselor, Tyrion Lannister. I could literally sit there and watch them have a conversation for a whole hour. I would honestly not mind an entire episode of just those two, my favorite characters, interacting. He’s brilliant and she’s brilliant and together they’re going to be amazing, which we’re already getting a taste of. Tyrion proposed the question to Daenerys- does she really want the iron throne? Is it possible she could do more good with the kingdoms she already has? And those are the kinds of questions and guidance I was expecting and hoping from Tyrion. Those are the ideas that will make Daenerys the greatest Queen there ever was (after all, she’s not going to stop the wheel. She’s going to BREAK the wheel). I need more. Bravo, Game of Thrones. Keep up the excellent writing between those two. I’m loving it.

Meanwhile, in Braavos, Arya is working on her craft, transforming into Lana, a girl who sells oysters and is going to bring down an unfair gambler. I’m not going to lie… it’s a bit confusing and complicated. Is she physically visiting the gambler as Lana, or is it all in her mind? I don’t really know. I kind of wish it could be explained in more detail. I feel like I would appreciate what she’s doing more that way.

In King’s Landing, Cersei is getting exactly what she deserves. And that’s all I have to say about that.

And finally, there’s Sansa and Theon/Reek. I know last week I said I had given up on Theon, but maybe I was too quick to judge. I have a feeling that if anyone can get through to him, it will be Sansa. She’s already breaking through his barrier a bit, by getting him to confess that he didn’t kill her brothers. I hope she keeps chipping away at Reek and finds some trace of Theon underneath. I’m not getting my hopes up, though. Maybe I’ll be surprised.

In summary, that episode gets an A++++. Amazing all around. Loved the development, loved the battle, loved the dialogue, loved the directing. We need more episodes like that! I can’t wait for more!

One thought on “Game of Thrones: Hardhome

Leave a Reply

