Sia Appreciation

I’ll be the first to admit, I was late to the game with Sia. I wasn’t listening to her when she released Healing is Difficult, Some People Have REAL Problems or even We Are Born. No, I first discovered Sia through my friend Mallorie, who just HAD to show me her music video for Chandelier. It all started for me with Maddie Zieglar.

And then I was hooked. I was ecstatic when I learned that Chandelier would not be a stand-alone video, but the first in a three-part series. It was followed shortly by Elastic Heart…

And, most recently, the final act, Big Girls Cry

Just, wow. Sia’s voice is amazing. Maddie’s talent for dancing and emotion is amazing. Put the both together and you just have magic.

Something I really admire about Sia is her newfound desire to keep her face hidden while performing, turning the focus solely to her lyrics, her voice, and her performers- namely, her talent, her craft, and her passion, as it should be. She has rejected the notion of celebrity and brought the attention back to what we should truly care about- art. And her art speaks for itself.

So, without further ado, I’d like to share some of my favorite performances/videos of Sia (Because that’s pretty much how I spent my Saturday, so I figured while I was watching all of these videos, I might as well share some of my favorites)!

Favorite live performances:

Favorite songs:

If you haven’t heard of Sia or, like me, only “recently” discovered her, be sure to give a listen to her old stuff as well, although I have to admit that 1000 Forms of Fear is by far my favorite album of hers (I’m obsessed with each and every song… that doesn’t happen to me very often).

Leave a Reply

