Game of Thrones: Kill the Boy

Well, we’re officially halfway through the season, and I am now paying for HBO Now. Congrats, HBO. Your 30 day free trial worked. (But seriously, HBO Now is revolutionary and genius and if you don’t watch a lot of TV, like myself, it’s the perfect app. All you need to watch on television is on there… pitch over). Now, on to last night’s episode.

I have to start off this post talking about Ramsey. It’s like a freaking soap opera. You guys, it’s terrible and messy and disturbing and I can’t get enough. Please tell me I’m not alone in this.

The relationship between Ramsey Snow/Bolton, Theon Greyjoy/Reek, and Sansa is just… wow. It’s the most messed up, complicated, disturbing relationship to ever exist. Fact. I mean, what the hell is even happening?! Theon was forced to apologize for “killing Sansa’s brothers,” an act it turns out he didn’t actually commit. Meanwhile, Ramsey is now part of a family (for how much longer?) that actually did kill her brother… and mother… and sister-in-law… and took over Sansa’s home. But does he apologize? Nooooo. He just has disturbingly aggressive sex with some random who I don’t trust at all around Sansa and declares that Theon/Reek is going to give Sansa away at the wedding?!?! The wedding that seriously creeps me out and has me so stressed! I just can’t even handle this anymore. I’m cringing as I write this. It’s like a terrible, terrible car wreck that you can’t look away from and I NEED MORE. What is wrong with me?

Now, I’m thrilled that “the North remembers” and it appears that Sansa has support in her hometown. However, when her maid told her to go to the highest window in the broken tower, it gave me pause. Am I wrong, or is that the same window and tower that Bran was pushed out of by Jaime in season 1? I might just be paranoid, but I don’t want Sansa going anywhere near there.

You guys, I have been waiting and waiting and waiting for Tyrion to see a dragon, and last night he finally saw Drogon! He’s getting closer to Daenerys and I am SO PUMPED!!! The scene with Drogon flying over gave me chills. It was perfect. Until the stone men jumped aboard and ruined everything. Which brings me to Jorah and grey scale. Will he live? Will he die? Will he receive redemption from Daenerys before the grey scale takes over? Was the conversation between Shireen and her father last week a set-up for how he could possibly be cured? I never know with this show. I mean, there’s a chance he could just get killed by some random next week before the grey scale even has a chance to settle. Who knows?! What I DO know is that he better not touch Tyrion.

Daenerys is getting her act together (after another moment of seriously poor judgement) and finally listening to her council, hopefully just in time for Tyrion to show up and offer his council. That “proposal”, though… if you can even call it that. Just  wow. That came out of nowhere. I’m still a bit in shock over that one.

And on the happiest note of last night’s episode, Grey Worm finally found romance!!!!!! I have been waiting for that moment between him and Missandei for a loooooong time and it was just precious and adorable and asldkfjlasdk PERFECT! I LOVED IT!

Finally, on to Jon Snow… I know the episode was named for his storyline, but I don’t really have much to say about it. He consistently does the good and righteous thing, which makes him super redeemable and likable to audiences (although apparently not so much to the Night’s Watch), but kind of boring to write about.

I am missing Arya hard this season. I’m going to need more of her on my screen ASAP. Here’s hoping for some more of her next week!

One thought on “Game of Thrones: Kill the Boy

Leave a Reply

