Game of Thrones: High Sparrow

After an intense 30 minutes of my internet crashing (fuck you, Time Warner Cable), I was finally able to get GoT up and running on HBO Now. And it was well worth the wait.

Sansa’s story-line is not one that I was ever too concerned with. Out of all the characters on the show, she has handled the cards she’s been dealt worse than anyone. And I’ll give it to her, her cards fucking suck. Her family was murdered, he was married to a dwarf as a joke, her betrothed, Joffrey, was an asshole, she was held prisoner in King’s Landing by the Lannisters after they beheaded her father and made her watch… So yeah, her life sucks. But it’s not fun to watch someone sit around and mope all the time. I’ve been rooting for her to get her shit together for a while now and go out there and make her situation better. And now, her situation is getting worse. Married off to a Bolton, even if he wasn’t part of the Red Wedding, is basically as low as you can go- especially when it’s a monster like Ramsey (that’s still really hard for me to say because I adore Iwan Rheon so much… and on a related note, he just dropped his full album, Dinard. Check it out on Spotify. If his EP is anything to go by, it’s gonna be pretty great). But maybe this will finally be her chance to avenge her family. Perhaps the people will rise up with her- “the North remembers.” Perhaps she will be the Stark to get her land back. I don’t know. All I know is that, for the first time in 5 seasons, I’m interested in Sansa Stark.

I loved the brief scene between Podrick and Brienne. We learned a little bit more about who they are and where they come from. The story about Brienne at the ball, being laughed at and then saved by Renly (which makes her intense grief over his death much more understandable now) was so unbelievably touching. I’ve been rooting for her since the start- I just adore her. I think that if Sansa finally accepts her help, they could take back the North together, earning Brienne the redemption she so desires.

Arya… oh Arya… Now, I know this is going to come back to bite Arya in the ass, but oh my god I let out a giant sigh of relief when she didn’t throw Needle into the water. Yes, she has to become “No One”. Yes, she has to get rid of all of her possessions. But this is NEEDLE! I couldn’t bear for her to part with it.

QUEEN Margaery is playing the game and I’m loving every second of it. Girl is ready to rule King’s Landing, and I love her cunning. If anyone is going to knock Cersei down a level, it’s her. But we all know Cersei won’t go down without a fight. I would be lying if I said I wasn’t nervous… (on a related note… Best joke I saw on Twitter last night: “If no one dies at a wedding, did it really happen?”)

Now for the elephant in the room… Tyrion getting kidnapped by Jorah at the end of the episode (and what an ending it was)! Jorah proclaims that he’s taking Tyrion to the Queen. BUT WHICH QUEEN?! Obviously, it has to be Daenerys. Right?! I mean, come on. Please let it be Daenerys!!! Here’s my theory: When Jorah ignored the royal pardon sent by the Lannisters, that was basically him rejecting them as his rulers. Yes, he’s now been banished by Daenerys, as well as had his feelings rebuked, but I’m holding onto hope that he still serves her as the true queen. On the other hand, he could realize now that he has nowhere else to go except back to King’s Landing, and turning Tyrion in to Cersei could be what allows him back into their good graces. I just can’t see him going back to the Lannisters now, after everything he’s seen and done. Here’s hoping he does the right thing and delivers Tyrion to Daenerys and gets back in her good graces!

Leave a Reply

