Stay Humble

My advice to you this week is to be humble and to learn from your mistakes.

Don’t be afraid to laugh at yourself or admit when you’re wrong. We’re all human, stumbling along, trying to be the best we can be. But no one is perfect. Which means, whether you like it or not, you’re going to mess up at some point in your life. So own up to it. It’s part of what makes you you. We should learn from our mistakes and embrace them and use them to help us grow. Have the grace to say “I’m sorry. I messed up.” Don’t blame others for your problems when it’s not their fault. Be self-aware. Acknowledge when you’re struggling and figure out how to be better because of it.

When I was in college, I made a decision that could be considered a huge mistake- I decided that I wanted to pursue Veterinary Medicine, so I signed up for Bio and Chem, knowing that I’m terrible at Science. I mean TERRIBLE. But I wanted to explore my options and career while in college (which is the whole point of college, which leads to why grades and the educational system in America is dumb, but I’ll save that for another day). I ended up flunking out of both classes. I had tutors, I saw the teachers for extra help, I studied vigorously- but science just isn’t my strength, so I failed.

The school was baffled- they thought my sudden and unexpected drop from a 4.0 to a 2.0 could be due to a psychological breakdown (if I wasn’t having one before all this started, I was by the time it was done). They wanted to take my Residence Life position away from me so I could focus on school. They wanted to take away my scholarships that I spent all four years of high school working my butt off to gain.They searched and searched and searched for what went wrong, when, in fact, the easy answer was that I had made a decision to study Science and it had backfired. It didn’t go according to plan. I tried something new and discovered that it wasn’t for me.

But! And that’s a HUGEEEE ‘but’. I learned along the way that I love to write. I always loved to write, but it was always just something that was there in the background, not something I considered important or relevant to my life. But it was during this time that I practically flunked out of college and learned what I’m NOT good at, that I discovered what I AM good at. And now I’ve self-published a novel, written for Broadway World, have a great job at a Publishing Company, and am writing this blog. So you tell me, did I make a mistake? Maybe. Did I learn from it? Definitely.

Own up to your mistakes. Learn from them. Embrace them. They could end up being the best thing that’s ever happened to you.

Leave a Reply

